New Jersey Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired (A Division of the State Dept. of Human Services)

General Information

New Jersey Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired (A Division of the State Dept. of Human Services)
153 Halsey Street, 6th Floor
Newark New Jersey 1 07102
(973) 648 3333
www.cbvi.nj.gov

Brief Description

CBVI services and programs are available to all blind or vision-impaired impaired NJ residents without regard to other disabling condition, gender, age, race, nationality, or religious and sexual orientation. A person may be eligible for services if he or she is experiencing a vision impairment that is affecting his or her daily life activities.

CBVI was created in 1910 by the State Legislature.

Staff

Delavar Basha, Manager, Joseph Kohn Training Center, delavar.basha@dhs.state.nj.us, 732 937 6385

Bernice Davis, Executive Assistant / Manager, George Meyer Instructional Resource Center, bernice.davis@dhs.state.nj.us, 973 648 3160

Christine Hinton, Deputy Director, Educational Services, christine.hinton@dhs.state.nj.us, 973 648 3333

Ines Matos, Chief, Organizational Logisitics, ines.matos@dhs.state.nj.us, 973 648 7676

Prestina Peters, Confidential Assistant, prestina.peters@dhs.state.nj.us, 972 648 2325

John Reiff, Manager, Northern Service Centers (Newark and Freehold), john.reiff@dhs.state.nj.us, 973 648 4780

Jack Thompson, Manager, Southern Region Service Centers (Cherry Hill and Hammonton), jack.thompson@dhs.state.nj.us, 856 482 3700

John Walsh, Chief, Program Administration, john.walsh@dhs.state.nj.us, 973 648 3549

Services Offered

  • Community Outreach Programs
    • Provides in-service training and participates in community education events.

  • Computer Training/Assistive Technology
    • Assessment and instruction in assistive technology (AT) are provided by Technology Services Specialists. The Technology Services Specialists also perform evaluations of potential employer’s information systems to determine compatibility with current AT technology and provide assistance in adapting these systems to meet the needs of vision-impaired consumers.

  • Counseling
    • Provides adjustment to vision loss and vocational counseling.

  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • The goal of this program is to enable persons who are blind or visually impaired to lead a full and productive life and to assist them in adjusting to their vision loss. Services include: In-hom instruction in daily living skills; instruction for independent travel and orientation to the home community, work or school environment; child care training; instruction in communication methods; and referral to community resources.

  • Employment/Job Training
    • The goal of this program area is to enable people people who are blind or vision-impaired to develop, acquire or update skills that will help them secure and maintain competitive and integrated employment. This may include obtaining jobs in a wide array of career fields like law, education, business, technology, as well as self-employment and other occupations. Services may include: Vocational evaluation, counseling, training; job placement; post-employment services; college counseling/support; vending facility and business enterprise program; marketing of home-crafted products; high school transitional services; special services for people who are deaf-blind; and training at the Joseph Kohn Training Center in New Brunswick.

  • Health
    • The goal of Project BEST (Better Eye-Health Services and Treatment) is to save sight and restore vision whenever it is medically possible. CBVI conducts and sponsors a variety of educational programs and eye health screening throughout the state to detect vision problems. Services may include: Mobile eye examination units; vision screening for preschool and schoolage children; eye health nursing; on-site screening at institutions and in communities on invitation; special diabetic outreach program; and other specialized eye screening programs which target historically underserved populations (i.e. minorities, the elderly, migrant farmworkers, etc.)

  • Health Services
    • Offers eye health nursing, diabetic retina detection, glaucoma screening follow-up, vision screening of children of migratory workers and other at-risk populations.

  • Low Vision Devices
    • Prescribes and supplies low vision devices.

  • Low Vision Services
    • Provides low vision evaluation and follow-up. Prescribes and supplies low vision devices.

  • Services for Seniors

  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Provides orientation and mobility training.